CTAD Lifetime Achievement Award to Ronald Peterson at Mayo Clinic
CTAD Lifetime Achievement Award to Ronald Peterson at Mayo Clinic
  • Hyun Duk Yang
  • 승인 2021.11.11 12:32
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

In recognition of contribution to AD research
Ronald C. Petersen, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurology and Director of the Mayo Alzheimer's Disease Research Center,
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN (USA)

This year the CTAD ‘Lifetime Achievement Award in Alzheimer's Disease Therapeutic Research’ was awarded to Ronald Petersen, MD, Ph.D., at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, in recognition for his extensive contributions to the advancement of AD clinical trials.

Dr. Ronald C. Petersen received a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota and graduated from Mayo Medical School in 1980. He completed an internship in Medicine at Stanford University Medical Center and returned to the Mayo Clinic to complete a residency in Neurology. That was followed by a fellowship in Behavioral Neurology at Harvard University Medical School/Beth Israel Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts. 

Dr. Petersen was named the Cora Kanow Professor of Alzheimer’s Disease Research and Mayo Clinic Distinguished Investigator in 2011. He directs the Mayo Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center and the Mayo Clinic Study of Aging and has authored over 1000 peer-reviewed articles on memory disorders, aging, and Alzheimer’s disease.

He focuses on the investigations of cognition in normal aging, mild cognitive impairment, and dementia. He and his colleagues evaluate cognitive changes in normal aging as well as in a variety of disorders involving cognition, such as Alzheimer's disease, frontotemporal lobar degeneration, and Lewy body dementia.

Dr. Petersen received the 2004 MetLife Award for Medical Research in Alzheimer’s Disease and the 2005 Potamkin Prize for Research in Picks, Alzheimer’s and Related Disorders of the American Academy of Neurology. He received the Khachaturian Award in 2012 and the Henry Wisniewski Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013 from the Alzheimer’s Association. 

He was appointed by the Secretary of Health and Human Services to serve as the Chair of the Advisory Committee on Research, Care and Services for the National Alzheimer’s Disease Plan in 2011.

삭제한 댓글은 다시 복구할 수 없습니다.
그래도 삭제하시겠습니까?
댓글 0
계정을 선택하시면 로그인·계정인증을 통해
댓글을 남기실 수 있습니다.